LSD Research

I have never taken any illegal drugs in my life, nor have I ever been tempted to. I never inhaled, and I was never asked so I never had the chance to just say no. I have never smoked and never drink. I have, however, been more than a little curious about the effects of hallucinogenic drugs such as LSD. I wonder what sort of hallucinations I would experience if I took a small dose. Since I don’t know any drug dealers there is small chance that I will ever satisfy that particular curiosity and after watching this video of an experiment with LSD performed in the 1950’s, I am not sure that the experience would be of any profit to me.

Since the hippie movement of the 1960’s quite a few people have claimed that taking LSD offers important spiritual insights into life, the universe, and everything. Judging from the comments on this video, quite a few people still believe this. Personally, I rather doubt that a substance which befuddles the mind’s powers of observation and reason can offer any particular insight, except perhaps on the taker’s psychology. It seems to me that it is like taking an old-style analog television and adjusting the antenna so that the screen shows mostly snow, and then claiming that you can understand the show that’s on much better than when the screen was clear.

 

Tags: , , ,

Questions, comments, praise

