Winter Has Come

We’ve had our first snowfall of the season here in Madison, Indiana and temperatures have dropped below freezing so I think it would be safe to say that winter has finally arrived after an unusually mild autumn. I was hoping that it would continue to be mild all winter but that is too much to hope for. This reminds me of a recent poll which showed that larger number of Americans were believing in the reality of climate change and that temperatures are rising worldwide. These results are not too surprising considering that the poll was taken during a warm autumn. I suspect that if January turns out to be unusually cold and snowy many of these same people will be convinced that a new ice age is upon us.

Thinking about my own recollections of past seasons, I seem to recall, as a child we never got any snow before the new year. But, then the worst snow we have ever had was in 1977 or 1978 when school was closed for a whole month. The teachers started to send us our homework so that we wouldn’t get too far behind. I do not think we have had so much snow since.

I could be wrong, but it seems to me that temperatures have been more even in the past few years. Perhaps I have a difference sort of tolerances for heat and cold. I don’t think we have had many days in which the temperature has risen above 100 degrees Fahrenheit in the past few summers. I remember whole weeks in which the temperature stayed in the upper nineties and hundreds. Somehow summer used to be more miserable than it is now. I also remember more winter days in which the temperature dropped below zero degrees Fahrenheit when I was growing up. I do not believe there were more than one or two such days in the last few years, nor do snowfalls seem to be quite as bad. As for extreme weather events,the worst that happened in my lifetime, in the local area, was the super cluster of tornadoes that devastated much of the Midwest back in 1974. We have had tornadoes since then, including several bad ones but none that did quite so much damage. We also had a bad wind storm back in 2005 which was the last remnant of Hurricane Katrina.

None of this means anything, of course. These are just the personal recollections of one man with a fallible memory. I hope this turns out to be a mild winter with little or no snow.

Tags: ,

Questions, comments, praise

