Table Leader

This evening I had the duty of table leader for the Lord’s Supper at my church’s evening service. What this involves is simply handing the bread and wine (really grape juice) to the two men who passed it out to the members who had not been able to attend the morning service. Of course the table leader first has to give a short statement about why we celebrate the Lord’s Supper every Sunday. I would rather face a firing squad than speak in public before a lot of people, so I had been very nervous for most of the day. I didn’t mind doing it, since I like to be helpful, but it was a trial.

I read from Romans 5:6-11,

6 For when we were still without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly. 7 For scarcely for a righteous man will one die; yet perhaps for a good man someone would even dare to die. 8 But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. 9 Much more then, having now been justified by His blood, we shall be saved from wrath through Him. 10 For if when we were enemies we were reconciled to God through the death of His Son, much more, having been reconciled, we shall be saved by His life. 11 And not only that, but we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received the reconciliation.

Then I asked who we would be willing to die for. Probably someone we love, such as a child or spouse, maybe for someone we know to be good, perhaps not for someone who is ungodly or who has hurt us. I then made the point that Jesus died for us even when we were sinners, and the Lord’s Supper is the commemoration of His death and resurrection. I also had to say a prayer before the collection.

I was nervous and spoke too fast, but I didn’t do too bad a job, I hope. Our preacher commended me during his sermon, saying that when I first joined the church, I was so shy I never could have gotten up in front of the congregation like that.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Table Leader”

  1. Justin Hoffer Says:

    Hey, congratulations on making a public speech! I know it isn’t easy, my gut turns whenever I have to do it.

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 341 other followers

