Penn State Scandal

I haven’t been following this story very closely and I am afraid that I may have some of the details wrong. My understanding is that back in 2000 a janitor witnessed Assistant Coach Jerry Sandusky committing an indecent act with a young boy in the showers. He told his supervisor and nothing was done. Another man witnessed a similar incident two years later and reported it with a similar lack of result.

Perhaps I shouldn’t judge these men. I am not at all sure what I would have done in a similar situation. It is easy enough to say that maybe they should have followed the matter up. I would like to think that I would call the police, immediately. Maybe even whipping out my cell phone and calling 911 on the spot.

I wonder what Coach Paterno and Atheltic Director Curley were thinking when they let that man go on abusing children. Surely they didn’t really believe that just forbidding him to take any more boys into the building was solving the problem. I also wonder what is going through the mind of someone like Sandusky when he is molesting a child. I would like to think that if I had any such inclinations I would seek some sort of help. I would hope that I would stay away from temptation by avoiding children.

 

Well that clears the matter up. He isn’t a pedophile. He just likes to shower with young boys.

Tags: , ,


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 341 other followers

