Job

I have just finished reading the book of Job. In some ways, it is an unusual book of the Bible. It doesn’t quite fit into the historical narrative from Genesis to Nehemiah, which tell of the history of the Hebrew people, and the patriarchs who were their ancestors. Job is not a Hebrew. The story seems to have been placed in the time of the patriarchs but there is no relation between Job or Abraham, Isaac, or Jacob. Even the Hebrew in which the book was written is odd with unusual grammatical constructions and rarely used words, which make it difficult to translate. The Greek Septuagint is actually some 400 lines shorter than the Hebrew. Evidently the translators simply omitted difficult lines. The style of the  Hebrew has led some scholars to speculate that the book of Job is itself a translation from another Semitic language. If so, then it is one of only three books of the Bible written by a Gentile. (Luke and Acts being the other two.)

Another interesting feature of Job is the astronomical references in God’s speech to Job.

31 “Can you bind the chains of the Pleiades?
Can you loosen Orion’s belt?
32 Can you bring forth the constellations in their seasons
or lead out the Bear with its cubs?
33 Do you know the laws of the heavens?
Can you set up God’s dominion over the earth? (Job 38:31-33)

As far as I can recall, this is the only passage in the Bible that names any of the constellations. In general, the Israelites were not as interested in astrology as the people of  many other ancient civilizations, most likely to avoid idolatry.

1 Now, Israel, hear the decrees and laws I am about to teach you. Follow them so that you may live and may go in and take possession of the land the LORD, the God of your ancestors, is giving you. 2Do not add to what I command you and do not subtract from it, but keep the commands of the LORD your God that I give you.3 You saw with your own eyes what the LORD did at Baal Peor. The LORD your God destroyed from among you everyone who followed the Baal of Peor, 4 but all of you who held fast to the LORD your God are still alive today.

5 See, I have taught you decrees and laws as the LORD my God commanded me, so that you may follow them in the land you are entering to take possession of it. 6 Observe them carefully, for this will show your wisdom and understanding to the nations, who will hear about all these decrees and say, “Surely this great nation is a wise and understanding people.” 7 What other nation is so great as to have their gods near them the way the LORD our God is near us whenever we pray to him? 8 And what other nation is so great as to have such righteous decrees and laws as this body of laws I am setting before you today?

9 Only be careful, and watch yourselves closely so that you do not forget the things your eyes have seen or let them fade from your heart as long as you live. Teach them to your children and to their children after them. 10 Remember the day you stood before the LORD your God at Horeb, when he said to me, “Assemble the people before me to hear my words so that they may learn to revere me as long as they live in the land and may teach them to their children.” 11 You came near and stood at the foot of the mountain while it blazed with fire to the very heavens, with black clouds and deep darkness. 12 Then the LORD spoke to you out of the fire. You heard the sound of words but saw no form; there was only a voice. 13 He declared to you his covenant, the Ten Commandments, which he commanded you to follow and then wrote them on two stone tablets. 14 And the LORD directed me at that time to teach you the decrees and laws you are to follow in the land that you are crossing the Jordan to possess.

Idolatry Forbidden

15 You saw no form of any kind the day the LORD spoke to you at Horeb out of the fire. Therefore watch yourselves very carefully, 16 so that you do not become corrupt and make for yourselves an idol, an image of any shape, whether formed like a man or a woman, 17 or like any animal on earth or any bird that flies in the air, 18 or like any creature that moves along the ground or any fish in the waters below. 19 And when you look up to the sky and see the sun, the moon and the stars—all the heavenly array—do not be enticed into bowing down to them and worshiping things the LORD your God has apportioned to all the nations under heaven. 20 But as for you, the LORD took you and brought you out of the iron-smelting furnace, out of Egypt, to be the people of his inheritance, as you now are. (Dueteronomy 4:1-20)

Several of the wicked kings of Judah and Israel worshiped the stars and perhaps made use of astrologers.

In any event, in terms of literary quality, Job is one of the best books of the Bible and stands on its own as a classic of Hebrew literature. The story is familiar. The good man Job is afflicted with all sorts of suffering. Despite everything, he does not curse God, but he does question why such evil has occurred to him. He demands a hearing before God, to face the One who has caused his suffering. His friends insist that he must have sinned, but Job will have none of that. He has not sinned. He is a righteous man who does not deserve any punishment.

In the end, God speaks to Job. His response is more than a little unsatisfying. He does not tell Job why he has suffered. God puts Job in his place by showing him how little Job actually knows, in what is actually my favorite part of the book.

Job 38

The LORD Speaks

1Then the LORD spoke to Job out of the storm. He said:

2 “Who is this that obscures my plans
with words without knowledge?
3 Brace yourself like a man;
I will question you,
and you shall answer me.

4 “Where were you when I laid the earth’s foundation?
Tell me, if you understand.
5 Who marked off its dimensions? Surely you know!
Who stretched a measuring line across it?
6 On what were its footings set,
or who laid its cornerstone—
7 while the morning stars sang together
and all the angels[a] shouted for joy?

8 “Who shut up the sea behind doors
when it burst forth from the womb,
9 when I made the clouds its garment
and wrapped it in thick darkness,
10 when I fixed limits for it
and set its doors and bars in place,
11 when I said, ‘This far you may come and no farther;
here is where your proud waves halt’?

12 “Have you ever given orders to the morning,
or shown the dawn its place,
13 that it might take the earth by the edges
and shake the wicked out of it?
14 The earth takes shape like clay under a seal;
its features stand out like those of a garment.
15 The wicked are denied their light,
and their upraised arm is broken.

16 “Have you journeyed to the springs of the sea
or walked in the recesses of the deep?
17 Have the gates of death been shown to you?
Have you seen the gates of the deepest darkness?
18 Have you comprehended the vast expanses of the earth?
Tell me, if you know all this.

19 “What is the way to the abode of light?
And where does darkness reside?
20 Can you take them to their places?
Do you know the paths to their dwellings?
21 Surely you know, for you were already born!
You have lived so many years!

22 “Have you entered the storehouses of the snow
or seen the storehouses of the hail,
23 which I reserve for times of trouble,
for days of war and battle?
24 What is the way to the place where the lightning is dispersed,
or the place where the east winds are scattered over the earth?
25 Who cuts a channel for the torrents of rain,
and a path for the thunderstorm,
26 to water a land where no one lives,
an uninhabited desert,
27 to satisfy a desolate wasteland
and make it sprout with grass?
28 Does the rain have a father?
Who fathers the drops of dew?
29 From whose womb comes the ice?
Who gives birth to the frost from the heavens
30 when the waters become hard as stone,
when the surface of the deep is frozen? (Job 38:1-30)

God basically says, “Who are you that you question My judgement?”

Job 40

1 The LORD said to Job:

2 “Will the one who contends with the Almighty correct him?
Let him who accuses God answer him!”

3 Then Job answered the LORD:

4 “I am unworthy—how can I reply to you?
I put my hand over my mouth.
5 I spoke once, but I have no answer—
twice, but I will say no more.”

6 Then the LORD spoke to Job out of the storm:

7 “Brace yourself like a man;
I will question you,
and you shall answer me.

8 “Would you discredit my justice?
Would you condemn me to justify yourself?
9 Do you have an arm like God’s,
and can your voice thunder like his?
10 Then adorn yourself with glory and splendor,
and clothe yourself in honor and majesty.
11 Unleash the fury of your wrath,
look at all who are proud and bring them low,
12 look at all who are proud and humble them,
crush the wicked where they stand.
13 Bury them all in the dust together;
shroud their faces in the grave.
14 Then I myself will admit to you
that your own right hand can save you. (Job 40:1-14)

After that, what can Job say?

Job 42

Job

1Then Job replied to the LORD:

2 “I know that you can do all things;
no purpose of yours can be thwarted.
3 You asked, ‘Who is this that obscures my plans without knowledge?’
Surely I spoke of things I did not understand,
things too wonderful for me to know.

4 “You said, ‘Listen now, and I will speak;
I will question you,
and you shall answer me.’
5 My ears had heard of you
but now my eyes have seen you.
6 Therefore I despise myself
and repent in dust and ashes.” (Job 42:1-6)

This may not be satisfying, but it is true. We cannot know God’s purposes or why the world seems to make little sense. Our perspective is so small, on the scale of the universe infinitesimal, that we simply have no clue about what is really going on. We can only trust in God as Job did.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Job”

  1. FixAmerica-Now Says:

    you know i have read the story of Job many times trying to understand it, it confuses me, because in it either 1. God is deceived by Satan, or 2. God is not omnipotent. when satan come to god and says the only reason job praises him is because he has everything, god says oh yeah, try it. though job lasted a little while, he eventually caved in and cursed god, would god not have known this if he were omnipotent? If he did know this, god and satan were playing a game with a man’s existance, which goes against the bible saying god loves all of his children. nice post though.

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 346 other followers

