Reading the Hadith

A while back I mentioned that I was starting to read the Hadiths of Sahih al-Bukhari. I thought I would write a post now and then over what I have been reading. It would be nice to try something like David Plotz‘s Blogging the Bible which he later expanded into “The Good Book“, or Robert Spencer’s Blogging the Koran, but I don’t have the time or energy for such an ambitious undertaking. Instead, as I said, I will write about some of the more interesting things I come across.

The Hadith of al-Bukhari is divided into nine volumes. There are 93 books divided according to subjects, mostly issues of behavior or jurisprudence. There are some books about Islamic beliefs, and Mohammed’s actions, which, of course, serve as an example to Moslems to this day. I have already described the structure of each hadith, the isnad or chain of narrators and the matn or actual anecdote, etc.

Incidentally, there is a former Moslem over at Islam Speaks who is featuring some of the sillier or objectionable stories from Islamic scriptures, especially the Hadith, but he is not reading it from beginning to end.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Reading the Hadith”

  1. Reading the Hadith « David's Commonplace Book | Find Best Information about Islam on Internet Says:

    [...] here: Reading the Hadith « David's Commonplace Book This entry was posted in Islam and tagged bible, david, david-plotz, islam, later-expanded, [...]

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 346 other followers

