Trump for President 2

Anyone who still thinks Trump for President is a good idea should read this column by Jonah Goldberg. And when you are done with that, read Trumped, the book Goldberg refers to. I haven’t read the book but Goldberg offers this little tidbit,

But how will “the blacks” feel after the DNC starts distributing excerpts of Trumped, an unofficial biography by a former employee who writes that his old boss hated having a black accountant because “laziness is a trait in blacks,” and, “The only kind of people I want counting my money are short guys that wear yarmulkes every day.”

Maybe Trumped was written by a disgruntled former employee, but it won’t matter once the mainstream media get ahold of it. I’m sure there is more than enough material there for them to crucify Trump.

I would defend him if he were a real Conservative, but he’s not. He’s a last-minute convert, just so he can semi-credibly run for president as a Republican. There is nothing in his past that would indicate that he is sincere. Back in 2000, in his “The America We Deserve“, he comes out in favor of universal health care, with a single-payer plan.

Jonah Goldberg concludes with an explanation for Trump’s apparent popularity:

Still, I understand why Republicans are so fickle. The GOP field is boring and cautious (though I think boring is an asset in a matchup against Barack Obama), while Trump is a fearless TV-star “birther” having a blast exploiting the media.

I’m with Goldberg. I’d take a dull Cincinnatus over a self-centered celebrity candidate any day.

Tags: , , ,


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 341 other followers

