The One-Acre Mosquito Trap

I occasionally buy gifts from Hammacher-Schlemmer, even though they are a little too upscale for my budget. Even though I can’t afford most of their products, I still find it fascinating to browse through their catalog. They really do sell some unique items. One thing that caught my eye was the One-Acre Natural Attractant Mosquito Trap. Here is the description from their website.

This trap attracts and kills mosquitoes across one acre without harmful chemicals. The trap mimics the natural conditions of human habitation by emitting heat and odorless carbon dioxide (the same gas people expel during respiration) and light to lure mosquitoes. Carbon dioxide is generated when ultraviolet rays from two fluorescent bulbs react with a titanium dioxide coating inside the trap. When the mosquitoes are drawn inside the device, an integrated fan traps the insects and sends them to a removable net where they die of dehydration. Unlike propane systems that require frequent refills or electrocution traps that release pathogens when an insect is killed, this superior model uses 5,000-hour rated UV bulbs and does not create biological agents. Plugs into AC. 22″ H x 13″ Diam. (9 lbs.)

And a picture.

81846_1000x1000

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I really like this,not only because I really, really hate mosquitoes, but also because it generates carbon dioxide, or “carbon pollution” as they call it these days. I would love to run this thing all year round just to increase my carbon footprint and promote global warming/climate change/climate catastrophe/ climate something bad. At $199.95,the mosquito trap is more than I can afford, but it might be worth the money just to irritate global warming alarmists.

Questions, comments, praise

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.