Archive for August 2nd, 2012

Famous Last Words

August 2, 2012

 

In this case, “I need to quit texting…”. A man sent this text right before driving off a cliff. Luckily, he survived. I got this story from wlbt.com off of the Drudge Report.

A college student from Texas believes he is lucky to be alive after a terrible crash. He was texting and driving when his truck flew off of a cliff.

Chance Bothe’s truck plunged off of a bridge and into a ravine. One of the last things he typed indicated what almost happened to him.

He wrote, “I need to quit texting, because I could die in a car accident.”

After the crash, Chance had a broken neck, a crushed face, a fractured skull, and traumatic brain injuries. Doctors had to bring him back to life three times . Now, 6 months later, he’s finally able to talk about what happened.

“They just need to understand, don’t do it. Don’t do it. It’s not worth losing your life,” he said. “I went to my grandmother’s funeral not long ago, and I kept thinking, it kept jumping into my head, I’m surprised that’s not me up in that casket. I came very close to that, to being gone forever.”

Chance’s father said, if he had a child just learning to drive, he would disable texting and Internet on their phone.

As of August 1st, drivers in Alabama will face a $25 fine the first time they are caught texting behind the wheel.

Since he survived, he does not qualify for a coveted Darwin Award, but maybe he can get an honorable mention.

 

Why I Went

August 2, 2012

I would like to say a few words about why my family and I went to eat at Chick-fil-A yesterday. It was not because of the statements that CEO Dan Cathy made concerning same-sex marriage. I am opposed to same-sex marriage, but that was not the reason we went. This wasn’t about same-sex marriage, or being anti-gay, or anything of the sort. Nor was it about the controversy or threats of boycotts that some activists were threatening. If they do not wish to patronize a certain business because of the beliefs of the CEO, that’s their business. I would have to say though, that if I started boycotting shows by actors who make idiotic statements, I could never watch television or see a movie at all.

What upset me is the way which Chicago mayor Rahm Emanuel and Boston mayor Thomas Menino announced that Chick-fil-A would not be welcome to do business in their cities. This sort of bullying is wrong and simply un-American. A public official threatening  a person’s business simply because they don’t conform to a certain political ideology is a huge step on the road to tyranny. That was why we were there. Also, I am getting very tired of the Left deciding what opinions are correct and what are not, and then vilifying people who hold the wrong ideas as racists or homophobes, etc.

I think that this was true of most of the other person who stood in line to eat at Chick-fil-A yesterday. I think that a lot of people are tired of having a political and social elite that despises them and their values and insists on shoving their ideology down people’s throats. It might be tolerable if this elite were actually capable of running the country, but as anyone who has paid any attention to what’s going on in Washington knows that they are not.

I imagine that the mainstream media will depict these people as hateful bigots, if they bother to report on it at all. But these people were not hateful or bigoted. They were simply tired and frustrated. This is the same mood that gave rise to the TEA Party and I would not be surprised if there were considerable overlap between tea partiers and Chick-fil-A customers. This is also why the TEA party is now about to fade away.

 


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 392 other followers

