Invitation

Yesterday evening I had to do the invitation at our church. An invitation is a sort of mini sermon done after the Wednesday evening Bible study. It only lasts about five or six minutes and is done by one of the men of the congregation rather than our regular preacher. In a way, I suppose it is a way to train preachers. I have actually done one once before when I substituted for somebody else.

Anyway, I was asked last month if I would be willing to deliver an invitation and I, absent-mindedly said yes. Sure enough, I was schedule for May 16. I spent most of this week preparing what I wanted to say. Between that and long hours at work, I haven’t had much time or energy to write here.

I was really, really nervous when I started out, but I got better as I started talking. I did stumble once or twice and if I am ever asked to speak again I will have to have my notes printed out in a larger font. I lost my place once, but it didn’t matter much since I had gone over the invitation in my head so I knew what I wanted to say. I am not sure if I did a good job. People told me I did, but this was church and they were obliged to be nice. Maybe if I made some sort of speech in a more secular environment I would get a more honest appraisal. I wouldn’t want this to be generally known, since they might ask me to do it on a semi regular basis, but despite the nervousness, I rather enjoyed myself up there. I would like to think I am making some sort of contribution.

Tags: , , , , ,


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 395 other followers

